Dantarian July 11 ’11

2011 Theme – Reach Within to Embrace Humanity

July 11, 2011

Awards Dinner
Awards Dinner

Last Week – District 5160 Awards and Installation

Jim Cambier
Jim Cambier

District 5160 Rotarian of the Year – Jim Cambier for his 10 year effort to build up Interact. This is Jim’s second District Rotarian Award

Danville Rotary received the Excellence in Service Award for the club’s ongoing efforts at Del Amigo School

Danville Rotary received the RI Presidential Citation, one of 29 awarded in the District, for the club’s balanced effort to support the broad goals of Rotary International.

Victor Georgiou was recognized for his ongoing projects in support of District Activities

At the club’s last regular meeting of last year, outgoing Pres Tony presented club awards

Barbara Jewell and Kathy Chiverton
Barbara Jewell and Kathy Chiverton

Danville Rotary Rotarian of the Year – Kathy Chiverton, shown receiving a check from the club for the Discovery Center

Coming up –

Board meetings are third Thursdays, so the first BOARD MEETING is July 21,

July 21 is also the date for the FUN MEETING at the Roby’s, and also the CAR SHOW in downtown Danville.

District Governors Visit is Monday August 1.

District Conference is October 7 & 8 in Monterey.

Past Pres Tony’s Awards Letter follows –

Dear Danville Rotarians;

I wanted to pass along my most sincere appreciation to each and every member of our club for a fantastic year that was both very successful and truly rewarding for me personally. If it weren’t for the hard work, dedication and true understanding of the purpose and mission of Rotary by our membership, we would not have been able to accomplish the results we achieved.

Among the many contributions are some stellar efforts that I want to acknowledge, and they are as follows:

Danville Rotary – Rotarian of the Year: Kathy Chiverton

M.V.P.’s :

Jim Crocker
Jim Cambier
Gary Vilhauer
Al Rubey
Barbara Jewell
Saurabh Tandon
Lynn Eskew
Mike Burton
Bob Chace
Vic Georgiou
David Roby
Tiffany Roby
Valerie Vicente
Evelyn Walker
Steve Kay
Edna Bingham

Rotary Stars:

Tita Escalada
Lori Sato
Steve Grote
Rob Cuenin
Gary Cappelletti
Don Schmitt
Jeff Behring
Chuck Bloch
Orin Pierce
Justin Clark
Bob Beaton
Dave Chadbourne
Pete Kaldveer

We are so fortunate to have so many engaged and active members. We
have a great club that is poised to continue to achieve great things in the
World and in our Communities. I wish much success to your new President,
Bob Chace, and look forward to yet another fun and rewarding year under
Bob’s leadership.
Best personal regards;

Tony Leonard,
Immediate Past President, 2010-2011